In Katatonia, New Releases, News
Mortuary Drape Logo

Cult band Mortuary Drape was formed in Italy in 1986 as a trio, by the visionary Wildness Perversion. Highly inspired by the dark arts & combining early influences from bands such as Mercyful Fate & Celtic Frost, Mortuary Drape developed their own unique style, defining themselves as black occult metal & releasing the demo Necromancy in 1987 which spread their name throughout the underground; though it was not until 1992 that their first official release surfaced, with Into the Drape. This was followed by the debut full-length album, the classic All the Witches Dance in 1994. Since then Mortuary Drape has been revered for their influential and pioneering work in the firm establishment of global black metal which took hold in the early 90s.

The band’s new 5 track mini album entitled Wisdom – Vibration – Repent span occultism, philosophy & blasphemy including a storming cover of the Mercyful Fate track, ‘Nightmare Be Thy Name’. Mixing the best elements of classic metal and at times doomier influences into a venomous concoction of occultic misanthropy, the Italian legends deliver once more with their accomplished old school black metal delivery and signature melodic style.

The cover art for Wisdom – Vibration – Repent appears courtesy of Misanthropic Art.

Wisdom – Vibration – Repent tracklisting

1. In A Candle Flame [05:56]

2. All In One Night [03:25]

3. Nightmare Be Thy Name (Mercyful Fate cover) [03:44]

4. Circle Zero [05:07]

5. Where Everything Falls [04:50]

Mortuary Drape - Purple Vinyl
Mortuary Drape - Wisdom, Vibration, Repent
Mortuary Drape - CD

Wisdom – Vibration – Repent will be released on CD & digitally on February 11 and as a  limited edition purple vinyl 12” on March 11 – all formats are available to pre-order from the link below.

Mortuary Drape is:

Wildness Perversion: Vocals

D.C. : Lead Guitar

S.R. : Lead Guitar

S.C. : Bass

M.T. : Drums

Mortuary Drape