In Mork, News


After the recent announcement of their new album ‘Dypet’, Mork are proud to present the first track ‘Bortgang’, accompanied by a lyric video created by Matthew Vickerstaff.

Written whilst Thomas was on a road trip, ‘Bortgang’ Norwegian for ‘demise’ , was inspired by the beautiful Nordic countryside. Thematically the song explores the idea of legacy and it’s various interpretations from both the perspective of the deceased and those that were left behind.

Musically the song showcases a mid-paced style that builds on the signature sound that Mork have been crafting thus far. Exploring more dynamics and representing even more depth than past releases. ‘Bortgang’ shows just how far Mork have come from their humble beginnings ten years ago and is a fantastic introduction to the world of ‘Dypet’.

Regarding the song, Thomas Eriksen had the following to say:

“One of my most beautiful poems, to date. Written whilst on a roadtrip in Norway, in a beautiful fjord somewhere in western Norway (ca. 2020). The poem is about passing away and what that might mean to you and the ones left behind. The music was also something I was very pleased with, feeling it was the most beautiful piece of music I’ve written thus far. One day I figured to combine the two, and there you have the song.”

‘Bortgang’ is out now on all streaming platforms.

‘Dypet’ sees Mork create a miasma of grim and frost-bitten riffs and harsh vocal melodies, marking the next logical evolution to come from the brilliant mind of  Thomas Eriksen. The album simultaneously pushes new ideas forward yet still retains the signature foundations of ice cold hypnotic Black Metal.


Eriksen comments “It is with great pride that I am able to present and experience the release of my sixth full length album. I put every single drop of myself into the process of shaping Mork’s music. Perhaps even more so with this new album. As the album title, which translates to “The Deep”, something from the depths has been brought to the surface, “Dypet” was inspired by my life over the last couple of years, the thoughts, feelings, passion and the evolving of creative free will. Dive in and let yourself sink into the abyss. “

‘Dypet’ track listing:

  1. Indred Demoner [6:15]
  2. Forfort Av Kulden [5:20]
  3. Svik [5:16]
  4. Et Kall Fra Dypet [7:31]
  5. Hoye Murer (Feat HJELVIK) [6:41}
  6. Bortgang [5:49]
  7. Avskum [4:44]
  8. Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen [6:15]
  • CD (Digipak)
  • Limited edition silver coloured vinyl LP in a heavy-duty gatefold sleeve
  • Black LP in a heavy-duty gatefold sleeve
  • Digital

Dypet will be released on Peaceville Records on 24th March on the following formats which are available to pre-order here: