Norwegian avantgarde-Metal legends Fleurety release new video for “Trauma” Taken from recent album The White Death


FLEURETY formed in Ytre Enebakk, Norway in 1991, and are known for their experimental & boundary-breaking approach to black metal. Peaceville Records are proud to welcome them to the label’s roster for their upcoming opus.

Their brand-new album, The White Death is Fleurety’s third full-length studio release marks almost two decades since the release of Department of Apocalyptic Affairs, and shows the band returning to the style of the legendary debut Min Tid Skal Komme (1995); however, this time more experimental, sarcastic and concise. As a result, The White Death captures a darker and more disturbing version of Fleurety than ever before, embracing the strange and the abstract to create a wholly unconventional yet often poignant opus, both deep and raw in its expression.

Watch the new video for “Trauma” above. The piece features guest vocalist, Norwegian actress and singer Linn Nystadnes and has been created, filmed, edited & directed by the band’s own Svein Egil Hatlevik.

“The trauma season is approaching, and we are celebrating with the release of a music video. This is the first Fleurety music video ever. Please everyone: A big hand to guest singer Linn Nystadnes! We wish you all the best trauma, whether you spend it with family, friends or by yourself. And happy new PTSD!” – Svein Egil Hatlevik & Fleurety

Fleurety’s line-up for The White Death features guitarist Alexander Nordgaren and drummer/vocalist Svein Egil “Zweizz” Hatlevik, now joined by bassist/vocalist Czral-Michael Eide (Virus, Aura Noir), vocalist Linn Nystadnes (Deathcrush, Oilskin), plus flutist Krizla (Tusmørke, Alwanzatar) and backing vocalist Filip Roshauw (The Switch). ‘The White Death’ was recorded by the band themselves and mixed by godfather of Norwegian noise music, Lasse Marhaug. Mastering was performed by longstanding partner of the band Greg Chandler (Esoteric) at Priory Studios, with artwork courtesy of Trine+Kim Design Studio (Ulver, Darkthrone).

The band has released two albums to date, plus a string of EPs, & has primarily existed as a duo featuring Alexander Nordgaren (formerly live guitarist for Norwegian legends, Mayhem) & Svein Egil “Zweizz” Hatlevik (Umoral, Strid, ex-Dødheimsgard) throughout their full history.

Press for The White Death

“Fitting well-oiled black metal components in a gleaming prog rock engine” – Wire

“Absolutely essential and a huge achievement” – Ave Noctum

An intoxicating taste of what Prog Metal could have been like in a world where Opeth and Dream Theater didn’t get to chair the meeting” – Ghost Cult

“Fleurety are playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order.” – Metal Hammer Magazine

‘‘The White Death is a stunning, uncompromising and thought-provoking record that should be talked about for years to come” Noisey

“A lecture in efficacy from the masters” – Invisible Oranges

“The White Death, maintains the group’s earlier atmospheric black metal leanings, but still takes huge leaps of faith in terms of instrumentation”Decibel Magazine

“Unpredictable, wild, suave, schizophrenic, gentle, aggressive, ‘old school’, avant-garde … totally Fleurety!” – Metallian

“There is no limit for the imagination. A completely strange listening experience from the beginning to the end .. for friends of confusing sounds” – Orkus Magazine